Our Board

Betsy Bassis

Chief Executive (voting member)

Betsy has extensive experience leading complex, customer-facing organisations across the private and public sectors. Before joining NHSBT in March 2019, she was the Chief Operating Officer at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. Betsy spent 12 years at Centrica/British Gas in a range of senior roles, including Strategy Director for British Gas. She is a non-executive director of the housing association London and Quadrant where she also chairs the Customer Experience Committee.

Millie Banerjee

Chair (voting member)

Millie Banerjee has had a long and varied career in both the private and public sectors. She has extensive experience in corporate governance, having held a number of non-executive appointments including non-executive director of the Cabinet Office, Channel 4 and Ofcom. Currently she also chairs the NHS Integrated Care System in South West London.

Non-executive members

Helen Fridell

Voting member

Helen is the Transformation Director, Customer Experience at Cisco. She is on the UK Gambling Commission Digital Advisory Panel and participates in the Mentoring for Growth programme.

Charles St John

Voting member

Charles was a Partner at private equity investment firms Cognetas and Electra. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Capstone Fostercare, Marken Logistics and Whiteline 

Professor Deirdre Kelly

Deirdre is Professor of Paediatric Hepatology/Consultant Paediatric Hepatologist at Birmingham Children’s Hospital. She has significant Board experience, most notably in the Health Research Authority, General Medical Council, Care Quality Commission (CQC) and Safety of Blood, Tissues and Organs (SaBTO).

Jeremy Monroe

Voting member

Jeremy was most recently a Partner and Vice President in IBM’s consulting and systems integration business (GBS), and previously a Partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers. He took up post in 2013.

Professor Paresh Vyas

Voting member

Professor Vyas is a Professor of Haematology at Oxford University, he runs a research laboratory at the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine. (Chair of the Research and Development Committee).


Ian Bateman

Director of Quality (non-voting member)

Ian joined in 2009 and became a Director in 2015. He has over 25 years experience in senior national and international Quality and Regulatory Compliance roles in both public and private organisations.

Rob Bradburn

Director of Finance (voting member)

Qualified Chartered Accountant, Rob joined in April 2008 with 20+ years' senior financial management experience. Formerly he was Global Vice-President Finance & Planning, Foods at Quest International.

Wendy Clark

Chief Digital and Information Officer (CIO)

Wendy is an experienced digital technology leader and CIO with a track record of delivering transformation. Wendy has worked across the private and public sectors and multiple industries. Before joining NHSBT in January 2020, she was Executive Director of Product Development at NHS Digital and prior to that CIO for a National Security Agency.

Anthony Clarkson

Director of Organ Donation and Transplantation / Tissue and Eye Services (voting member)

A Registered Nurse with over 25 years' NHS experience Anthony is a transformational leader who has held a number of leadership roles including in Blood Donation, Tissue and Eye Service and ODT.

Greg Methven

Director of Blood Supply (voting member)

Greg has had senior roles within ICI and Akzo Nobel. He was latterly Chief Operating Officer of McBride Plc, Europe’s leading supplier of private label household and personal care products.

Dr Gail Miflin

Director of Clinical Services (voting member)

Gail joined in 2010 and became a Director in 2016. Previously she was a Consultant Haematologist at hospitals and NHS Trusts, specialising in treating patients with red cell disorders.

Katherine Robinson

Director of People (non-voting member)

Katherine joined NHSBT in 2007 as the Deputy Director of People having previously worked at several acute trusts along the South Coast. Katherine became a Director in 2017.

Katie Robinson

Director of Strategy and Transformation

Katie joined us in May 2020 from NHS England and NHS Improvement where she held a number of roles, most recently Deputy Director, Provider Policy. Prior to joining NHS England Katie held a number of roles across the Civil Service, including as a Senior Civil Servant at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

David Rose

Director of Donor Experience (non-voting member)

David joined as a Director in 2020 from Starbucks Coffee Company where he was responsible for digital customer experiences and engagement across EMEA. Previously he held a number of commercial leadership roles at Virgin Atlantic Airways in the UK, Kenya and China.